Skip to content

Revive, Renew, Restore – Sew, Embroidery, Crochet……

November 27, 2012

Embroidery, crochet, and sewing (garments or patch work for quilt tops) is very exciting and gives me pleasure and a feeling of achievement.  Everyone should learn to sew on buttons and hem at the least.  Buttons come off and hems come out or the garment is too long.

From the time I was a child, I have tried my hand at various forms of needle crafts.  I do not claim to be an expert but I find them relaxing and satisfying.  As an elementary age child there was stamped cross stitch that I tried.  Those shaky and not too even stitches were a good place to start.  I tried to learn knitting and managed a stocking cap but I didn’t find that relaxing.  My mother was a wonderful seamstress.  She made all my school and play clothes and my younger brother’s shirts and our pajamas.  When I was a sixth grader I asked her to teach me how to sew.  We started with a simple gathered skirt.  Since mother was a home economics teacher Daddy thought she should have already taught me how.  From that first skirt my adventures in sewing went on from there.  My most proud accomplishments were a tailored suit for my husband and our daughter’s wedding dress.

Sewing on a button and hemming are two things everyone should learn to do.  To sew on a button do the following:

  1. Thread the needle with a double strand of thread that matches the garment or the color other buttons are sown on with
  2. Tie the strands together with a knot.
  3. Locate the spot the button came off.
  4. Remove any fragment of thread that remaining there.
  5. Insert the needle from the back side through one of the holes left by the thread or 1/8” from where the center of the button should be and through one hole of the button.
  6. Insert the needle down through either the hole either straight or diagonal from the needle (front to back).
  7. Insert the needle in the same place it was first inserted to go back up.
  8. Repeat step six and seven 3 more times.
  9. Move to the other pair of holes and do the same.
  10. To tie off, instead the needle from the back to come out under the button.
  11.  Next wrap the thread around the stitches twice.
  12.  Run the needle back through a loop to create a knot.

You can find great books on sewing at http://www.fehler.astrastore.com/?do=bl&bn=48

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Indispensable Marketing

Small Business Marketing Consultant and Process

Indispensable Marketing

"If Your Goal Is Growth, Marketing Is All That Matters"

reviverenewrestoreblog

Making your appearance, attitude & self image better.

Book of words

Books, reviews and all things worth reading

retroquo

it's not enough to just find a bargain, you have to tell people that you've found a bargain

Notes From The Frugal Trenches

A simple & frugal life in a large Canadian city!

Light Quest Life Coaching

Illuminating the Power of Personal Possibility

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

